When you plan to move to a vegan diet, you will explore a number of surprising food options which have animal products. A lot of people think bread to be vegan; you have a number of brands and kinds which contain byproducts of animals. It is quite the same with all processed foods, so it is important that you check the ingredients of every product you consume when you’re on a vegan diet.
An ingredient commonly seen in non-vegan bread is whey! Similar to casein, it is made in the procedure of producing cheese and milk. Vegans are familiar that animals used for the production of these products aren’t treated well. Thus, they opt not to eat any animal product, even if the animals aren’t getting killed in the process.
Lecithin is also used in breads. While the contemporary version is crafted from soybeans, some producers make it out of egg yolks too. Thus, it is important to keep a close eye and ensure which type is being used in the making of the bread.
Another two confusing ingredients are lactose and lactate. Lactose is made of milk product but lactate isn’t. Usually the names beginning with “lac” are made via fermentation procedure which use cornstarch. However, it isn’t applicable on all “lac” products. However, one should choose wisely and find out whether they are derived from animals or their byproducts or not.
Another common ingredient, often overlooked is dough conditioner. You have a number of dough conditioner and a lot of them use animal byproducts. One of it is L-cysteine. It is made from duck feather and pig hooves and bristles.
You have a number of products used in vegan bread derived from animal and plant sources. And it is upon the consumer to find out which is what. You have a lot of info available online, and you can also enquire the bakery from where you’re purchasing your bread.
A number of companies provide a special line of bread only for vegans. Other companies release bread which are exclusively marked as vegan bread. There are companies which provide vegan mixes as well as homemade breads.
You can find out vegan bread at farmer’s market or on the on the grocery stores. While you do have companies that sell the breads online and provide home delivery options to maintain freshness.
A lot of people who follow vegan diet are highly conscious about their health. There are numerous ways to enjoy a vegan lifestyle. You have a number of bread brands that provide you with vegan bread. You can easily make your choice and purchase. You have a number of vegan bread ingredient substitutes, like you have vegan substitutes for milk, egg and butter. You can even make the breads at home, but it could be a little tedious procedure. However, the breads would be utterly fresh and genuine.
Best of all, you would know all the ingredients that you will be consuming without worrying about whether the strange ingredients read on the packaging of the vegan bread are vegan or not.